Words to my Son

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Billy Joel

with 2 comments

Son,

Growing up, I didn’t listen to a lot of music.  It wasn’t a big part of my parent’s life so it wasn’t a part of mine.  It wasn’t until I was 17 and started driving a car and listening to the radio that I listen to much at all.  I grew up in the 1980’s and graduated high school in the 1990’s.  That was a great time for music.  By the time you are old enough to care, I am sure big hair and mullets will be back in style.

Anyway, when I did eventually start listening to music, Billy Joel quickly became my favorite.  I am been to three concerts, and at one point owned all his albums, but destroyed them all in a fit of self-righteousness.

Well, Billy is back in my life and also yours.    Right now we are listening to Turnstiles, the album your mom bought for me with her birthday money.  I would enjoy it if you grew to enjoy him too.

“It comes down to reality, and it’s fine with me, cuz’ I’ve let it slide.”

Dad

Written by Jason

January 10, 2009 at 6:21 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. What kind of self-righteousness made you destroy Billy Joel’s albums?

    Terry

    January 11, 2009 at 3:45 am

  2. It is hard to explain, but I thought that being a “Christian” meant that I could only listen to “Christian Music”. Now I realize there is no such thing as Christian or non-Christian music, just music.

    Jason

    January 11, 2009 at 6:31 pm


Leave a comment